

STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

For Immediate Release Date: August 14, 2019

Contact: <u>Michael Yaple</u> (609) 376-9072

## New Jersey Department of Education Announces 2019-2020 County Teachers of the Year

**Trenton, NJ** – The New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) today announced 21 teachers as the 2019-2020 County Teachers of the Year during an awards ceremony at Liberty High School in Jackson.

"It is with great pride that I recognize these highly skilled, compassionate and dedicated County Teachers of the Year," **said Governor Phil Murphy**. "These teachers reflect the exemplary quality of educational leadership that we see throughout our state."

"New Jersey's educators are among the best in this country, as evidenced by the success of our students," **said Education Commissioner Lamont O. Repollet.** "The teachers who we recognize today instruct, inform, and *inspire* children to achieve success in school and beyond."

The Governor's Educator of the Year Program promotes a positive school culture by acknowledging the hard work and dedication of outstanding teachers. Individual schools are encouraged to nominate exceptional educators with diverse backgrounds to ensure that the honorees represent the ethnic/racial diversity of New Jersey. As an added incentive to participate this year, the New Jersey School Boards Association made it possible for over 2,400 educators who were named as their local school's educator of the year to receive free virtual educational resources that will benefit their students.

The County Teachers of the Year will network with educators throughout the state and serve as ambassadors for New Jersey's public schools. Additional information can be found on the <u>Governor's Educator of the Year webpage</u>.

A panel of educators then will select the New Jersey State Teacher of the Year based on written applications, video submissions, and interviews with the top six finalists.

The State Teacher of the Year is expected to be announced at the State Board of Education's October meeting and will go on to represent New Jersey in competing for the title of National Teacher of the Year.

## New Jersey's 2019-2020 County Teachers of the Year are as follows:

County	First Name	Last Name	School	School District	Grade level Taught	Subject Area
Atlantic	Leslie	Kronemeyer	Mainland Regional High School	Mainland Regional H.S. District	9th- 12th	Spanish
Bergen	Leah	Jerome	Pascack Valley High School	Pascack Valley Regional H.S. District	11th- 12th	Social Studies
Burlington	Michelle- Anne	Spring	Hawthorne Park Elementary School	Willingboro School District	4th	Elementary
Camden	Kimberly	Dickstein	Haddonfield Memorial High School	Haddonfield School District	10th- 12th	English
Cape May	Thomas	Belasco	Lower Cape May Regional High School	Lower Cape May Reg. School District	11th- 12th	English
Cumberland	Amanda	McCloskey	West Avenue School	Bridgeton School District	6th & 8th	Mathematics

County	First Name	Last Name	School	School District	Grade level Taught	Subject Area
Essex	Yanelis	Cabaleiro- Rempusheski	School #3	Belleville School District	PreK	Special Education
Gloucester	Brittany	Mason	Washington Township High School	Washington Township School District	11th- 12th	Social Studies & Tomorrow's Teacher Educator
Hudson	Martha	Noriette Garcia	Academy 1 Middle School	Jersey City School District	6th- 8th	Visual Arts
Hunterdon	Therese	Squicciarini	J.P. Case Middle School	Flemington- Raritan School District	7th	Special Education
Mercer	Helen	Corveleyn	Hopewell Elementary School	Hopewell Valley Regional School District	K-5th	STEM
Middlesex	Jennifer	Olawski	Livingston Elementary School	New Brunswick School District	K-5th	Health & Physical Education
Monmouth	Beth	English	Freehold Township High School	Freehold Regional H.S. District	9th- 12th	English
Morris	Sarah	Guza	Lincoln Park Middle School	Lincoln Park School District	8th	Mathematics
Ocean	Kelly	Cerbone	Lake Riviera Middle School	Brick Township School District	7th	Mathematics & Science
Passaic	Patrick	Slater	Wayne Valley High School	Wayne School District	9th- 12th	Technology Education
Salem	Tracy	Demarest	William Roper School	Woodstown Pilesgrove School District	PreK-K	Special Education
Somerset	Suzanne	Updegrove	Branchburg Central Middle School	Branchburg School District	6th- 8th	Gifted and Talented
Sussex	Jennifer	Caputo	Helen Morgan Elementary School	Sparta Township School District	5th	Elementary
Union	Bryan	Lowe	Valley Road Elementary School	Clark School District	5th	Elementary
Warren	Debra	Koch	Belvidere High School	Belvidere School District	9th- 12th	Family Consumer Science